Book #51242
The Laws of Mauritius Revised. 3 Vols. 1896-1897. Mauritius, Francis Taylor Piggott, Louis, Thibaud.
The Laws of Mauritius Revised. 3 Vols. 1896-1897.

The Laws of Mauritius Revised. 3 Vols. 1896-1897.

1896-1897 Compilation of the Laws of Mauritius [Mauritius]. Piggott, Francis Taylor. Thibaud, Louis Arthur. Furcy Alfred Herchenroder, Furcy Alfred. The Laws of Mauritius Revised. With the Assistance of George Guibert and William Newton. Port Louis: Printed by Gabriel Bouic, 1896-1897. Three volumes. Octavo (9" x 6"). Recent cloth, gilt titles to spine, endpapers renewed. Wear to edges of preliminaries and endleaves, interiors otherwise fresh. $600. * Only edition. With thorough indexes. Volume 2 includes the Penal Code and the Criminal Law. The Dutch were the first Europeans to establish a settlement in Mauritius, an island in the Indian Ocean east of Madagascar. The Dutch were displaced by the French in 1715, who established a thriving colony with an economy based on sugar plantations worked with slave labor. The British captured the island in 1810 and it was ceded to Great Britain along with its dependencies in 1814 by the Treaty of Paris. Independent in 1968, Mauritius became a republic within the Commonwealth in 1992. OCLC locates 10 copies. Sweet & Maxwell, A Legal Bibliography of the British Commonwealth 7:96.

Price: $600.00

Book number 51242