Book #69089
Thoughts Upon the Abolition of the Punishment of Death, In Cases. Basil Montagu.
Thoughts Upon the Abolition of the Punishment of Death, In Cases...

Thoughts Upon the Abolition of the Punishment of Death, In Cases...

By an Important Reformer and Opponent of Capital Punishment Montagu, Basil [1770-1851]. Thoughts Upon the Abolition of the Punishment of Death, In Cases of Bankruptcy. London: Printed for Joseph Butterworth and Son, 1821. 71 pp. 12mo. (8-3/4" x 5-1/4"). Stab-stitched pamphlet bound into later library buckram, calf lettering piece and paper shelf label to spine. Light soiling, moderate rubbing to extremities. Light browning to text, light foxing to a few leaves. Some soiling, minor edgewear and faint embossed library stamp to title page, which is partially detached at ends, a few library marks to its verso, another embossed library stamp to following leaf. A rare title. $750. * Only edition. Lawyer, versatile legal author, philanthropist and reformer, Montagu is best known for his tireless efforts to reform bankruptcy law and abolish capital punishment, work he pursued with considerable success. His call for the reduction of severe punishments puts him in the tradition of Beccaria and Romilly. OCLC locates 8 copies, 5 in North America, 2 in law libraries (Harvard, University of Cincinnati). Not in Sweet & Maxwell or the Catalogue of the Library of the Harvard Law School (1909). British Museum Catalogue (Compact Edition) 17:843.

Price: $750.00

Book number 69089

See all items in Antiquarian & Scholarly
See all items by